First ever gender-balanced Council and first Mayor sworn in

Eight councillors and a Mayor were sworn in Wednesday night following the results of the October 17th Municipal Election. This marks the first time that Council has an equal split of women and men, and the first time a Mayor has been sworn in.

“I am honoured and humbled to be elected the first mayor for the Municipality of Cumberland,” said Mayor Murray Scott. “I think we have a terrific Council in front of us, I look at their strengths and skills sets and I think this is going to be a wonderful team together. Teamwork is important, because an issue in one district is an issue for all of us and we will find solutions together.”


Members of Council now include:
Mayor Murray Scott

Councillor Fred Gould – District 1
Councillor Rod Gilroy – District 2
Councillor Jennifer Houghtaling – District 3
Councillor Kathy Redmond – District 4
Councillor Angela McCormick – District 5
Councillor Mark Joseph – District 6
Councillor Dale Porter – District 7
Councillor Carrie Goodwin – District 8

The newly elected Councillors each expressed their appreciation to the voters, the election workers and to those that helped them with the elections. Councillors also indicated their interest and enthusiasm to commence with the business and governance priorities of the municipal agenda.

“The nine people who are on Council are up to the challenge and I feel great about it. I think by working together as elected officials, staff and the citizens of Cumberland county we can do great things,” concluded Scott.
The ceremony had a limited in-person audience due to COVID-19 restrictions.

A recording of the event the can be viewed at